Dunn Site (18AP84)

The Dunn Site (18AP84) is the location of 18th-20th century commercial buildings in downtown Annapolis. Archaeological work done at the site where demolition of 20th century additions to the rear of 44 West Street had taken place prior to new construction. The investigation revealed a high density of 19th- and 20th-century features, including a possible circa 1900 brick bakery oven and its associated brick-lined floor. There is also evidence of intact 18th-century midden deposits below the paved floor and across the entire site.

Archival research indicates that the properties known as 40-50 West Street have served as the site of multiple historic businesses and residences including a tavern, barber shop, restaurant and lodging, grocery, ice cream salon, bakery, hotel, clothing store, saloon, wallpaper shop, and dry goods store. The first known owner of the property was John Golder, whose home and store occupied the lot as early as 1760. His son Archibald Golder acquired the property in 1795, although he had been occupying the property prior to that date. Golder operated a tavern (variously named Pennsylvania Farmer, Mount Vernon, and The Sign of the Waggon and Horse) on the property. After 1799, several other owners operated a tavern at this location.

Phase II testing, conducted in the spring of 2000, involved the excavation of six 8 x 3 foot backhoe trenches and three test units within the area of demolition behind the 44 West Street façade. Excavations clearly illustrated the many building and renovation events that have taken place on the eastern portion of the site. Multiple wall foundations, chimney bases, and brick-lined floors were documented, in addition to a 4.5 foot diameter well or cistern and numerous other subsurface features. These features were documented, but not excavated. Archival and artifactual evidence has allowed for the dating of many, but not all, of the features.

The northern and western portion of the site have undergone fewer intensive building events, serving as a yard until the 20th century. Excavations revealed an 18th-century sheet midden at a depth of two feet in these areas. Datable artifacts in the midden include tin-glazed earthenware, Staffordshire slipware, and white clay tobacco pipes. The density of oyster shell and other faunal remains support the probable association of this midden with the taverns that occupied the site in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The midden may have also been associated with the occupation of the property by John Golder.

(Written by Patricia Samford)

References

  • Ernstein, Julie
  • 1990. Archaeological Testing at the John Brice II (Jennings-Brice) House, 18AP53, 159 Prince George Street, Annapolis, Maryland

About the MAC Lab

The MAC Lab
Visiting the MAC Lab

Contact Us