MAAR Feature II (18BA313)
The MAAR Feature 11 Site (18BA313) consists of four non-extant 19th-century attached dwellings and a possible store. The
village of Texas was a 19th-century Irish Catholic community where limestone quarrying and the production of lime was
the principal economic activity. Texas was first settled in 1703 by Joseph Taylor. In 1725, Thomas Cockey purchased
Taylor’s improved house and lands. Cockey owned the land until his death in 1737. Cockey’s son, Thomas Cockey
Deye, inherited the land at his father’s death. In 1804, John Clark began a small-scale quarrying and
lime operation on land that he was leasing from Cockey Deye. The arrival of the Baltimore and Susquehanna Railroad
in the village in 1832 encouraged the limestone business and provided transportation of the product. In the 1840s,
Irish immigrants settled and worked at the kilns and quarries or ran local businesses. In 1846, Samuel Griscom
purchased a 44 acre parcel on both sides of the railroad that formed the center of Texas. Within a year he
was operating a quarry. Griscom built a number of duplexes by 1854 along either side of the railway line. Industry
in Texas peaked between 1850 and 1880. By 1852, there were 37 individually owned kilns operating in Texas. The industry
gradually declined into the 20th century, due mainly to a lack of modernization, but was revived in the 1930s.
Site 18BA313 was located on Lots #4-7 of Division 9. Site 18BA313 was initially identified in 1985 in advance of a
proposed highway project. In Phase I archaeological survey, pedestrian survey and probing was followed with subsurface
testing. Parts of a foundation were noted during the surface reconnaissance and extensive probing was done to
delineate the extent of the 24x41 ft. foundation. The foundation and lintel were designated as Site Feature 11. Phase
II site examination was conducted at the site in 1986. The area investigated consisted of the rear yard, where 16
test units and a trench were excavated. Discoveries included a brick walkway, a set of limestone steps, and a
filled cellar of the stone foundation discovered in Phase I. The structure was interpreted to be a single-family
dwelling that was destroyed by fire in the first part of the 20th century. Investigations at the site revealed
that the landscape had been altered in the historic past, probably in the construction and improvement of the
residence and yard. The house was probably erected prior to 1866 and burned down sometime in the first two
decades of the 20th century. Diagnostics from the site dated from ca. 1865 to the present, with a greatest number
of types having a range from ca. 1880-1920.
Phase III archaeological investigations were carried out at Site 18BA313 in late 1991 and early 1992. The main goal of
the archaeological recovery was to recover information concerning immigrant ethnicity evidenced in the archaeological
record. During mechanical stripping in the backyard area, a rock foundation feature was encountered. The 12 ft.
square rock foundation feature was interpreted to be a cellar hole. A total of 688 artifacts were recovered from
the cellar hole excavations, the majority of which were recovered from the burn-related layers. Based on
excavations within the house cellar that revealed partition walls, the overall size of the foundation, and
the historical documentation, it was determined that the structure represented a 50 x 30 ft. multi-family
residence or row house. Four features—a privy, a modern trash pit and two postholes—were also identified during
the rear yard excavations. The walkway and limestone steps that were encountered during the Phase II study
were re-identified during the Phase III evaluation.
The main goal of the data recovery project was to recover information concerning immigrant ethnicity evidenced in the
archaeological record. The Feature 11 Site (18BA313) was the site of a multiple residence (three, two-story
connected houses along with a single-story attached residence) that existed during the last half of the 19th
century and was destroyed by fire in the first decades of the 20th century. The only pit or shaft feature
identified at the site related to the dwelling’s occupation was a privy which had been cleaned in recent
times. A second structure was identified by a foundation and cellar hole in the rear yard area of the
site. This feature had been filled during or after the structure was abandoned and demolished. Based on a
documentary account, the structure may have served as a store during the 1860s and '70s. The land in and
around the site has been subjected to disturbance from infilling and grading since the 19th century. The
Phase III data recovery project thoroughly examined the site for extant cultural and structural features.
(Edited from
the Maryland
Historical Trust Synthesis Project)
References
-
Payne, Ted, Kenneth Baumgardt, and Betty C. Zebooker
-
1994.
Beaver Dam Road Widening: Phase III Archeological Investigations at Nineteenth Century Irish Workers Residential Sites: 18BA313, 314, and 325, Baltimore County, Maryland.
MAAR Associates, Inc., Newark, Delaware.