The Elizabeth Lowry Site (18CR226)
The Lowry Site (18CR226), located west of Westminster
in Carroll County, Maryland, consisted of an extant
residence (Elizabeth Lowry House) and associated yards.
The Elizabeth Lowry House consists of a log house,
initially constructed circa 1839 - 1841, with frame
and brick additions. The site was initially owned
by free African-American Elizabeth Lowry.
Archival research indicates that in 1839, free black
Elizabeth Lowry purchased a portion of a tract from
landholder Henry Cassell. Tax records to indicate
that a structure was on site by 1841. This is likely
the core of the building; a simple log house. A
frame addition and later Queen Anne style addition
were constructed over the course of the 19th and
early 20th centuries. Maps indicate a second log
dwelling, also built by Lowry circa 1865. This
structure is no longer extant. Lowry ownership
ended circa 1868 when the property was purchased
by J.D. Roop, a local white landholder. The property
was likely occupied by unknown tenants until the
20th century. The Lowry House served as a meeting
space for the Meadow Branch Church of the Brethren
from 1944 to 1954. The property appears to have
remained in the Roop family until 1976.
In 1993/1994, the Maryland State Highway Administration
sponsored a Phase Ib survey of alternates for a
bypass around Westminster. Phase Ib examination
of 18CR226 consisted of a pedestrian survey and
the excavation of 13 shovel test pits. The Phase
Ib survey indicated archaeological deposits present
in the house yard, with a total of 265 artifacts
recovered. Phase II testing at the site consisted
of 63 shovel tests and four 1 X 1 meter test units
placed against the extant building foundations. Yard
deposits were similar across the site: a humus layer
over a yard deposit of varying thickness, resting
directly upon subsoil. No differential stratigraphy
representing different temporal occupations was
encountered. The strata that represent the yard
deposits have been receiving artifacts from the
initial occupation through the present. Overall
2,308 artifacts were recovered from the Phase II
tests.
It appears the original Lowry cabin survived as the
core of the extant residence. Several features were
identified, including a cellar hole, stone-lined
privy, brick and cement foundation for a well-house,
an area used in the 20th century for burning
automobiles, and a fieldstone path. All but the
cellar hole appear to have been in use until the
recent past. The cellar hole represents the second
cabin built circa 1865 that burned around 1900.
The filled cellar represents a tightly dated
artifact-bearing context that dates over a 40
year time span when the property was owned by
Roop and presumably occupied by tenants.
Phase III data recovery was recommended. In 2007,
researchers returned to the Lowry site for data
recovery, including a ground-penetrating radar
(GPR) survey, mechanical stripping of ca. 08 acres,
and hand excavations in test units. Several
features were identified and excavated in the
yard and units and features were excavated in
the cellar hole. After completion of the GPR
survey, three 5 X 5 ft. test units were excavated
to the base of the cellar deposits. These test
units, combined with the two Phase II 3 X 3 ft.
units, provided a sample of the yard surface
above the fill deposits in the cellar. The yard
surface over the cellar was stripped with a
backhoe and additional test units were excavated
in the cellar to examine the floor and fill was
associated with the destruction and demolition
of the structure.
Targeted areas were stripped with a backhoe. The
GPR survey resulted in the identification of 8
features and 3 clusters of anomalies, as well
as the privy/shaft feature and the filled cellar
hole. Several features were identified and excavated
in the yard, including two pits (Features 2 and 10),
two mica-schist foundations (Features 4 and 5), a
rectangular pit (Feature 6) and a shaft feature
interpreted as a cistern converted to a privy.
The two mica-schist features and the rectangular
pit appeared to have supported small outbuildings
of undetermined function. The pits were filled
with trash that showed evidence of burning,
probably associated with refuse disposal. The
shaft feature fill included destruction debris,
and auto parts. The lower fill stratum included
fecal matter, as well as ceramics and architectural
artifacts from the mid-20th century. Several
test units and three features were excavated in
the cellar hole. A stratum of destruction debris
associated with the burning of the cabin was
excavated. The cellar floor below this deposit
was thermally altered. Two other units were
excavated to expose the mica-schist northeast
corner entrance to the cellar. Under the
demolition deposits were occupation deposits
on the cellar floor. These deposits were not
exposed to the heat of the fire. In addition,
two postholes (Features 7 and 8) were identified
that probably represent structural members
of the cabin. A pit feature (Feature 9) may
have served as a storage pit.
During excavation of the Lowry Site, 21,058 artifacts
were collected. Approximately 94% (19,804 artifacts)
were recovered from the cellar of the cabin, and
about 5.95% came from the yard features and the
privy. Many artifacts were not identifiable, as
they were burned or melted beyond recognition during
the fire that destroyed the cabin. Functional
analysis of the assemblage demonstrated that the
largest part of the cellar assemblage consisted
of architectural materials (72%) associated with
the cabin’s destruction by fire. Kitchen artifacts
were the second most frequent group (20%). Plant
remains recovered revealed the presence of 241.94
grams of wood charcoal, 2,726 uncharred seeds,
and 175 charred seeds. Analysis of the faunal
collection recovered from the Lowry site (414
specimens) identified domestic and wild animals.
Analysis of the landscape of the site focused on
relationships among the archaeological features
(buildings, fences, pits, and privy/cistern)
and artifact distributions to understand the
landscape ensemble of the site. This house-and-garden
property was occupied by African Americans.
Archival and archaeological evidence demonstrates
that the log house built by Elizabeth Lowry was
the first dwelling on the property, probably
about 1830. The house faced the main road and
the work yard was north and east of the house
and cistern. No evidence of fences was found.
At the northeast of the yard was a group of
small outbuildings with stone foundations
(Features 4 and 5). Around the mi-19th century,
a frame addition was built on the log house
and a second log building was built southeast
of the original house. The distribution of
ceramics north and east of the log cabin
suggests a work yard, similar to that around
the original house. The property was sold to
the Roop family in 1868, and the dwellings
occupied by tenants. Artifact distributions
in the yard show similar patterns to those
of the Lowry occupation. The log cabin burned
c. 1900 and a large addition was built on the
original house. The cistern was converted to
a privy and a well house constructed. A garage
was built in the 1930s or 1940s. The property
was used for an auto-repair business in the
late 1950s. The small outbuildings were probably
removed during the 2nd half of the 20th century,
and a circular driveway was added.
(Edited from
the Maryland
Historical Trust Synthesis Project)
References
-
Catts, Wade, Joseph Balicki, and Elizabeth O'Brien
-
1998.
Phase II Archeological Investigations of the Drechsler (18CR224) and Elizabeth Lowry (18CR226) Sites, Md. 140 Westminster Bypass, Carroll County, Maryland.
SHA Archaeological Report No. 150.
-
Jones, Lynne, Katherine L. Farnham, Charles E. Goode, Wade P. Catts, and William J. Chadwick
-
2009.
Phase III Data Recovery. Elizabeth Lowry Site (18CR226) Carroll County, Maryland.
SHA Archaeological Report No. 351.