Trueman's Appeal(18CV175)
The Trueman’s Appeal site (18CV175) is the remains of a
19th-century farmstead north of Lusby in Calvert County.
A late 19th- or early 20th-century house was located some
200 meters distant.
Archival research revealed that Trueman’s Appeal was the
residence of the Blunt family in the last half of the 19th
century. The house ceased to exist by 1897. It is possible
that the site was the residence of the Pardoe family before
it came into the ownership of the Blunts. This is conjecture
based on the nearby grave of William Dowell, a member of the
Pardoe residence in the 1850s. Land records that might support
Pardoe ownership were destroyed, along with other county
records, in a courthouse fire in 1882.
Documentary evidence of a structure at the site is confined
to a reference in tax sale documents of 1892, which describes
the property as being 24 acres with a “comfortable dwelling
house” listed as existing in 1889. The house appears to have
been no longer extant by 1897. No historic maps depict the
house. The best estimate for its construction is sometime
in the 1850s, as the Blunt family shows up in the census
records for Calvert County around that time. They are
present in the 1860-1880 US census lists. James E. Blunt
defaulted on his mortgage in 1892, necessitating the tax
sale which records the presence of the house. The property
was acquired by Mr. and Mrs. Robert Grover. The Grovers
sold the property to H. Gordon Trueman in 1919. Trueman’s
estate would eventually pass to his daughter, Mrs. Larry
Forman, who who sold the property to the State Highway
Administration.
The site was identified in 1974 during a survey of a highway
improvement project corridor. The site was recognized during
preliminary reconnaissance, because of a cluster of architectural
and domestic debris, as well as some prehistoric lithics,
in a plowed field. Subsequently, a surface survey and collection
was carried out, with the recovery of both historic and prehistoric
artifacts. Interviews with a local farmer who had plowed the
field indicated the potential for in situ architectural remains
because of difficulty when plowing this portion of the site.
This preliminary survey was followed up with a systematic
survey in 1980. A controlled surface collection of a 50 X
50 ft. section of the field was gridded into 10 X 10 ft.
sampling squares. Artifacts collected included 307 fragments
of brick, 91 pieces of architectural stone, 77 mortar pieces,
9 plaster fragments, 15 nails, 2 buttons, 61 ceramic sherds,
29 shell fragments, 45 unidentified glass fragments, and 14
miscellaneous objects. The preponderance of building and
habitation materials led to probing of the area with a metal
rod and exposure of a U-shaped brick and sandstone feature.
Based on the surface collection and probing, thirteen test
units and trenches of varying sizes were excavated atop
potential features and artifact concentrations. One test
unit and a trench were excavated in the “house area”. The
result was the exposure of a U-shaped brick and sandstone
feature, roughly 1 X 1.52 m in size, interpreted to be a
chimney base. A builder’s trench was also encountered.
Phase II testing in 1984 entailed archival research, controlled
surface collection, and the excavation of test squares and
trenches. The surface collection began with the establishment
of a collection grid of 3 X 3 m squares across the site.
Artifacts collected from each square, defining two concentrations:
one on the south end and another on the slope to the north.
The southern artifact concentration, particularly mortar,
defined the location of a former structure. The other was
viewed as a potential outbuilding location and subjected
to test square excavations.
Test units concentrated on relocating the features identified
in 1980 and also were placed in areas of artifact density
in a search for outbuildings or outlying features. Eleven
1 m test squares, and one 5 m X 50 cm trench and another
smaller trench were excavated. The trench and outlying
squares yielded negative results. In the trench there were
some shallow pockets of brick, mortar, and oyster shell,
likely related to demolition of the structure. In the area
of the secondary concentration, downslope and north of the
main concentration, evidence of severe erosion was
encountered.
The feature described as a mortared fieldstone “chimney”
by the earlier work was determined to be a cellar bulkhead
entrance. Several pockets of cellar fill were identified,
but no evidence of a cellar lining or foundation. Soil
augering determined that the cellar was small, unlined,
shallow, and filled with occupational and demolition
debris truncated by repeated plowing. Analysis of the
diagnostic artifacts revealed that the vast majority
date to the mid-late 19th century.
Given the presence of subsurface features it would appear
that 18CV175 has reasonably good integrity. With the
exception of plowing and erosion, the site had not
been adversely impacted. The plowing doubtlessly
affected shallow features at the site, incorporating
their contents into the plow-disturbed horizon. The
extent of the plow disturbance and erosion is indicated
by the absence of features with the exception of the
remnant of the cellar hole. Hence, while the site has
reasonably good integrity, unplowed or less deeply
plowed sites from the same period would have much
greater integrity and hence greater significance.
(Edited from
the Maryland
Historical Trust Synthesis Project)
References
-
Hurry, Silas D., Maureen Kavanagh, and Dennis Curry
-
1987.
Archeological Reconnaissance and Testing: Maryland Route 2/4 Corridor, Calvert County, Maryland.
MGS File Report No. 211.