Antenna Field (18ST386)

This site is a c. 1660-1720 colonial domestic site, approximately 200' square, in the western edge of the Antenna Field on the NESEA property at the Webster Field Annex. The site was likely a small tenant farmer occupation. The poor drainage and soil quality of the land would not have been preferred for settlement, and the artifact assemblage, though small in size, contained no artifacts to suggest a wealthy household. Architectural evidence recovered from the field's surface indicated the structure was most likely a post-supported frame building with at least one chimney partly constructed of brick. This type of dwelling was typical in the 17th-century Chesapeake and housed Marylanders of all social levels. This site is the earliest archeological evidence of colonial occupation on the NESEA property, and the only 17th-century site yet identified.

During the fall of 1982, the Southern Maryland Regional Center conducted a Phase I archaeological survey at Fort Point under the direction of Michael A. Smolek. At this time a local collector (Alan T. Spence) brought an artifact collection, including some recovered from the Antenna Field, to the attention of the archaeologists. As a result, a very preliminary survey of the nearby Antenna Field (named c. 1982 when three large antennas were placed there) was made. A late 17th/early 18th-century probable tenant site (18ST386) was identified. Diagnostic artifacts indicated a second half of the 17th-century occupation date. This original 1982 survey of this field also recovered a scatter of prehistoric artifacts, including one Holmes point and one Brewerton point.

In 1985, Julia A. King and Dennis Pogue of the Southern Maryland Regional Center conducted additional investigations in advance of new drain lines planned through the field. Testing consisted of systematic surface collection and 11 5x5' excavation units, of which 5 were screened. The 1985 survey turned up 89 lithics, 1 mortar, and 7 small, unidentified shell-tempered pottery fragments. Nothing was diagnostic to a specific time period, and no subsurface features were identified.

In 1996, a systematic Phase I survey of the Webster Field Annex property was conducted by Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum. The 1985 site boundaries were refined to be 525 feet north-south by 275 feet east-west, encompassing both the prehistoric and historic components of the site. Sixty-nine positive STPs excavated at 25-foot intervals defined the revised site boundaries. In general, the artifacts were similar to those found in 1985, and support the suggested 17th-century date for the site. However, 18th-century pipe fragments, along with the English brown and white salt-glazed stoneware sherds, may suggest that the inhabitants of the nearby early 18th-century site at 18ST541 made some use of the 18ST386 area.

In May of 2013, The Louis Berger Group, Inc. conducted Phase II testing at the site on behalf of the Navy. Ahead of the Phase II excavation, the artifacts recovered during the 1996 shovel testing of the site were analyzed for spatial distribution. The shovel test data and artifact information were brought into GIS. The analyses showed a cluster of historic artifacts in the central part of the landform, extending from the antenna tower site (now a fenced copse of trees) to the west-southwest. Architectural artifacts clustered more tightly around the antenna tower area. Prehistoric artifacts were distributed in small clusters across the entire landform, with the highest density observed north of the antenna tower. The spatial analysis was used to guide the 2013 Phase II testing, which included 11 .9x.9-meter test units within the plotted Phase I artifact concentrations. Subsequent test units were used to explore the artifact-rich areas within the site and to identify potential archaeological features.

Three historic features and one prehistoric feature were identified. The historic features, which dated to the mid- to late-17th century and consisted of two middens and a trash pit, were located in the western portion of the site near a spring head and small stream. The prehistoric feature is enigmatic and yielded 95 prehistoric artifacts, principally ceramics (n=90). Although most of the potsherds were eroded and not able to be typed, the typed ceramics from the feature are all Popes Creek ware, an early Middle Woodland type.

In all, 165 prehistoric artifacts were recovered, including 106 ceramics. Of these, all the typed specimens were Popes Creek net-impressed. The second largest component of the assemblage is debitage, with 48 pieces recovered, principally quartz and quartzite. Three tools were recovered, consisting of a mano (grinding stone), an endsraper, and a retouched flake. A small amount of fire-cracked rock (n=8) was also recovered. The prehistoric assemblage indicates that some food preparation or processing occurred on-site, as well as stone tool manufacturing. Prehistoric site activities may have included pottery manufacturing; a possible open-fire kiln was identified in Test Unit 4. The artifact data also indicate that tool manufacturing occurred on site, with quartz, quartzite, and chert cobbles reduced from early stages into intermediate or final stages of reduction. All told, the prehistoric assemblage suggests that the site functioned at least as a short-term encampment, perhaps seasonally occupied.

The historic artifact assemblage included more than 800 artifacts, of which 30% were recovered from feature contexts and the remainder (n=578) from non-feature contexts. The historic occupation likely dates from the last half of the 17th century to c. 1720, and the site appears to have been occupied by one or more tenant farmers. No structural features were identified, but the house location was likely south-southwest of the antenna pad. The tobacco pipe assemblage suggests that the main occupation of the site was in the last half of the 17th century, from approximately 1660 through the 1680s. The overall pipe stem assemblage was found to have a mean date of 1656. One interpretation would be that the site had a fairly continuous occupation from the last half of the 17th century to c. 1720. Another possibility is that the site was occupied as a tenant farmstead between approximately 1660 and the 1680s, and that it was used subsequently into the 18th century for dairying or other ancillary agricultural use.

All three historic features appear to be kitchen trash deposits associated with an unknown tenant farmer who leased the property from the Society of Jesus during the mid- to late 17th century. The features contained household artifacts and indicate that both wild and domesticated comestibles were used by the residents of the site. Most of the ceramics recovered were utilitarian lead-glazed wares often associated with food processing. Several were non-diagnostic, but others were identified as Manganese Mottled, North Devon, and Surry ware. In addition, two of the redwares recovered from one feature were identified as potential Morgan Jones pottery, a ware type produced locally in the Chesapeake region during the 1660s and 1670s. Only three pieces of fine tableware, Delftware, were recovered from features. The prevalence of cheaper utilitarian ceramics in the kitchen assemblage and the paucity of more expensive fashionable tableware are reflective of the low social standing of the tenant farmer who resided at site 18ST386.

Site summary revised from Medusa by Patricia Samford

((Modified from state site form by Patricia Samford)

About the MAC Lab

The MAC Lab
Visiting the MAC Lab

Contact Us